Hopewell Ceremonial Earthworks

In November 2011 I was invited to accompany my professor John Koepke at a conference in Ohio to comment on the process underway there for several Hopewell Ceremonial Earthworks to be inscripted as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.  One of my primary interests as a student of landscape is to understand the “spectral traces” of culture.  Combining my background in anthropology and my interests in “land art”, I felt very glad to be part of this dialogue.  I hope that as I move further into my own process within the field of landscape architecture that heritage and historic preservation can be a primary focus.  The Hopewell Ceremonial Earthworks that I was so fortunate to visit are very special places with rich and complex stories surrounding them.

Below is a presentation I put together for members of the University of Minnesota’s student chapter of the The Minnesota Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About matthewtraucht

Graduate school student at the University of Minnesota's College of Design pursuing a Master's of Landscape Architecture, class of 2013.
This entry was posted in Learning to Observe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hopewell Ceremonial Earthworks

  1. Pingback: Summer Break (Break?) | Desire Lines

  2. Pingback: Eschatological Design | Desire Lines

Leave a Reply

