Venice Sketchbook Two

Sketching allows the artist to sit still and absorb the surroundings in depth.  As I study a space and interpret it onto the page, life is happening all around.  On a recent rainy Sunday I was whiling away my time in the Museo Correr exploring the massive collection of archaeological artifacts and artworks.  I stumbled into a large room with high ceilings, Istrian stone walls, and marble sculptures overwhelmed by a crowd of people.  Just then, a trio of violin, flute, and contrabassoon began a performance of music by Salvatore Sciarrino, the Italian composer of contemporary classical music.  I was awestruck by the clarity of sound and emotion in the room as the carved faces stared back at me from eternity.  The piece ended and the group moved to another room for another performance, and then another.  As I stood listening, I took advantage of the idle time to sketch a sculpture of Aphrodite as a virtuoso performed Esplorazione del Bianco on cello. The sounds were whispers. I was happier than I’ve been for a very long time.  Life is happening all around.

About matthewtraucht

Graduate school student at the University of Minnesota's College of Design pursuing a Master's of Landscape Architecture, class of 2013.
This entry was posted in Learning to Draw and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

